Nunthorpe Stakes Betting Tips and Offers

Nunthorpe Stakes Preview: Tips, Betting Offers, Free Bets and Odds

The penultimate day of York’s Ebor meeting features one of the major sprint contests of the season as its highlight. Read on for the lowdown on the fast and furious Nunthorpe Stakes.

First run at York back in 1922, this 5f Group 1 contest is open to all runners aged two and older and now offers £340,000 in total prize money. The Juddmonte and Yorkshire Oaks have been and gone but this one is just as classy and we’ve got two great tips.

Nunthorpe Stakes Betting Tips and Analysis 2019

The Nunthorpe Stakes is the big all-age sprint race of the Ebor Festival. It’s open to horses aged two and older but Lyric Fantasy and Kingsgate Native are the only juveniles to have won. Old horses have a strong record in recent years for this Group 1, 5 furlong contest but it’s an exciting three-year-old who tops the betting.

Does Ten Sovereigns Have Enough for Another Group 1?

Ten Sovereigns signed off his juvenile season with a Group 1 win in the Middle Park Stakes at Goodwood. That firmly established him as one of the most promising horses heading into the new season but things did not immediately go to plan for Aidan O’Brien’s colt as a three-year-old.

He just didn’t get the trip in the 2000 Guineas which prompted a change in tactic from O’Brien. His first reversion to 6 furlongs was a so-so performance at Ascot but he was much better last time out when winning the July Cup at Newmarket.

That performance was good enough for Ten Sovereigns to be installed as the favourite for the Nunthorpe Stakes. Punters haven’t been put off at a general price of 6/4 but it’ll take the best performance of his career to beat the experienced sprinters he’s up against on Friday over 5 furlongs.

Battaash Can Put the Last Two Years Behind Him

Battaash came into last year’s Nunthorpe Stakes as the odds-on favourite. However, he flopped badly in the race for the second successive year in a row with racing fans and punters scratching their head as to why he was unable to reproduce his brilliance from Goodwood just a few weeks earlier.

The fact that Battaash is available at 9/4 with BetVictor shows that punters are wary of another poor performance from the five-year-old at York. That is understandable but the nature of his performances this season (he won at Goodwood once again) and a slightly different approach to his preparation from Charlie Hills could bring the best out of Battaash.

El Astronaute Is Worth a Small Bet

Winning this sort of quality sprint is not just about speed. It can be a tactical affair and those who hit the front early have to show a lot of heart to stick it out and keep the competition at bay. El Astronaute has developed the sort of character required for this race in some highly competitive handicaps and this experienced campaigner will not be easily shaken off.

Whilst El Astronaute doesn’t quite have the speed of Ten Sovereigns or Battaash he’ll be there to capitalise should anything go wrong with the market principles. As such, an each way bet could be in order at very big odds of 33/1 with Coral.

Betting Predictions

The big question about the Nunthorpe Stakes is whether or not it comes too soon for Ten Sovereigns. Some believe that he is now starting to fulfil his potential but the trends suggest this is not a race for younger horses so Battaash could just be too good.

As we’ve seen, Battaash has had his problems at York and is a headstrong type who is difficult to control. He’s also an excellent sprinter though, who has to be considered good value at odds of 9/4 with BetVictor.

[themify_box style=”light-green rounded shadow”]

Previous Winners

  • 2018 – Alpha Delphini– jockey Graham Lee, trainer Bryan Smart
  • 2017 – Marsha – jockey Luke Morris, trainer Sir Mark Prescott
  • 2016 – Mecca’s Angel – jockey Paul Mulrennan, trainer Michael Dods
  • 2015 – Mecca’s Angel – jockey Paul Mulrennan, trainer Michael Dods
  • 2014 – Sole Power – jockey Richard Hughes, trainer Edward Lynam
  • 2013 – Jwala – jockey Steve Drowne, trainer Robert Cowell
  • 2012 – Ortensia – jockey William Buick, trainer Paul Messara
  • 2011 – Margot Did – jockey Hayley Turner, trainer Michael Bell
  • 2010 – Sole Power – jockey Wayne Lordan, trainer Edward Lynam
  • 2009 – Borderlescott – jockey Neil Callan, trainer Robin Bastiman
  • 2008 – Borderlescott – jockey Pat Cosgrave, trainer Robin Bastiman
  • 2007 – Kingsgate Native – jockey Jimmy Quinn, trainer John Best
  • 2006 – Reverence – jockey Kevin Darley, trainer Eric Alston

Race History and Top Jockeys and Trainers

There are many grandly named horse races which take place throughout the year but this is not one of them! The race is named not after a famous duke or racehorse of years gone by, with the Nunthorpe of the title instead referring to a district of Middlesborough!

First run as a lowly selling contest back in 1903, the first edition run under the conditions we know today came in 1922. Amongst the major sprint contests of the season, the Nunthorpe is pretty unique in truly being open to everyone. Colt, gelding or filly, two years old or older, all are permitted to enter.

A number of runners have recorded more than one victory in this race, nearly always in back to back years. A special mention must therefore go to Sole Power. He first scored here in 2010 as a three year old, before returning to the winners enclosure for the second time in 2014 at the age of seven. That year he was named Irish Horse of the Year.

Another horse to have doubled up was 2010 King George Stakes winner Borderlescott, who took this one in 2008 and 2009.

Two runners have achieved the remarkable feat of landing this competitive event on three occasions. Tag End won in 1928, 1929 and 1930 and more recently Sharpo, who proved dominant between 1980 and 1982, also winning the July Cup in 1982.

The peerless Lester Piggott first won this race aboard Right Boy in 1958 and followed up on the same horse in 1959. With seven wins in all Piggott has triumphed here more than any other jockey.

Ossie Bell flew out of the blocks among the trainers, with five wins in the first 16 years of the race. As of 2015 that tally is yet to be equalled.

If you want even more betting tips without any fuss, check out our tips for today’s races!