Ebor Handicap Tip

Ebor Handicap Betting Tips, Offers and Odds

The highlight of Day 4 of York’s Ebor meeting is one of the most popular handicaps of the year. Here we take a look at the best odds and racing betting offers surrounding the Ebor Handicap and provide our tips for the race.

This 1m6f Heritage Handicap was first run at York in 1843. The £311,250 prize money on offer to the winner in 2018 makes it one of Europe’s most valuable flat handicap contests. With such money at stake there is usually a classy field and this year is no different.

Ebor Handicap Tips and Betting Offers, 3:40 at York, 24th August 2019

The Ebor Handicap isn’t just one of the highlights of the Ebor Festival at York, it’s among the biggest and most highly anticipated handicaps of the entire flat racing season. This historic race received a big boost last year when the prize money was increased to £1 million. That has only increased the quality of those competing in this 1 mile 6 furlong race and we have an especially exciting edition ahead of us.

A Changing Race?

The increase in prize money was obviously welcomed by connections of those with Ebor ambitions but some believe that it will change the nature of this race. The trends show that the weight a horse carries is one of the most important indicators of success. That was not the case last year when Muntahaa carried 9st 9lb in victory, more than any of the previous 10 winners.

Punters and bookies alike are trying to understand the Ebor’s new feel and there’s a combination of horses from towards the top and bottom of the condensed ratings at the top of a typically competitive betting market. Obviously, a single renewal is not enough to throw away years worth of stats so those having a bet should consider covering both angles.

Raheen House to Show His Class

Raheen House has taken a similar route into the Ebor Handicap as Muntahaa. William Haggas’ five-year-old has run in a Listed race and a Group 3 so far this season but connections are not concerned about his lack of handicap experience.

We’re talking about a horse who beat Enabled. That win came when Raheen House was being trained by Brian Meehan. He’s since switched to William Haggas’ yard where the plan for this season always revolved around the Ebor. That he’s taken the route he has to York shows that connections believe carrying 9st 8lb will not be punishing enough and that Raheen House can utilise his quality to win the £600,000 first prize at 8/1 with BetVictor.

Look to the Bottom of the Weights for an Each Way Bet

Barring any late withdrawals, The Grand Visir will be carrying the least weight in this year’s Ebor Handicap. The bookies aren’t overly concerned about his chances of maximising his competitive mark as they’ve made him a 25/1 shot across the board. That, however, may prove to be a price that you cannot ignore.

There is absolutely no question that The Grand Visir will be able to get the trip at York. He won the Ascot Stakes during Royal Ascot which is run over a marathon 2 mile 4 furlongs trip so will have no problem with 1 mile 6 furlongs. He’s also shown the sort of toughness required for this sort of ultra competitive handicap so could just grab a place at a tempting price.

Betting Predictions

The Ebor Handicap may be changing a little now that there’s £1 million in prize money but it remains an incredibly tough contest which demands experience and great heart. The Grand Visir has those qualities in spades so the 25/1 that bet365 are quoting screams each way value but the most likely winner is Raheen House. The money has already come in for him and it’s likely to continue so Raheen House may be the favourite come the off. That accurately reflects his chances of winning at 9/1 with BetVictor.

Previous Winners

  • 2018 – Muntahaa – jockey Jim Crowley, trainer John Gosden
  • 2017 – Nakeeta – jockey Callum Rodriguez, trainer Iian Jardine
  • 2016 – Heartbreak City – jockey Adam McNamara, trainer Tony Martin
  • 2015 – Litigant – jockey Oisin Murphy, trainer Joseph Tuite
  • 2014 – Mutual Regard – jockey Louis Steward, trainer Johnny Murtagh
  • 2013 – Tiger Cliff – jockey Tom Queally, trainer Lady Cecil
  • 2012 – Willing Foe – jockey Frankie Dettori, trainer Saeed bin Suroor
  • 2011 – Moyenne Corniche – jockey Dale Swift, trainer Brian Ellison
  • 2010 – Dirar – jockey Jamie Spencer, trainer Gordon Elliott
  • 2009 – Sesenta – jockey Gary Carroll, trainer Willie Mullins
  • 2008 – All The Good – jockey Dane O’Neill , trainer Saeed bin Suroor
  • 2007 – Purple Moon – jockey Jamie Spencer, trainer Luca Cumani
  • 2006 – Mudawin – jockey John Egan, trainer Jane Chapple-Hyam

Ebor Handicap History and Top Jockeys/Trainers

Having been with us since way back in 1843 the Ebor Handicap is one of the most historic of the racing year. The origins of its title date back further still, to the time of the Romans. Eboracum was the title of the city of York back in those days and the abbreviated “Ebor” has featured in the race’s title ever since its inaugural running.

One of the best of the early winners here was the 1858 champ, Vedette. The son of Voltigeur had the speed and class to triumph in the 1857 2000 Guineas, as well as the stamina required to prevail here.

1979 hero Sea Pigeon must rate as one of the most successful dual purpose performers of all time. In addition to this race he twice won the Chester Cup on the flat, as well as landing two Champion Hurdles at the Cheltenham Festival.

One of the most popular winners of more recent times is the Barry Hill’s trained Further Flight. His success here in 1990 kicked off a remarkable period of success in staying contests including two wins in the Goodwood Cup, a Doncaster Cup and an incredible five successive Jockey Club Cups.

Flint Jack deserves a special mention as in over 170 years he is the only horse to win this more than once, landing back to back renewals in 1922 and 1923.

Lester Piggott did rather well at York during his illustrious career. He leads the way in the jockey standings for this race. The 30 time Classic winner notched up five victories in this between 1958 and 1983.

We have to go back a good deal further in the record books to find the race’s most prolific trainer. That record belongs to Tom Dawson who recorded five wins of his own between 1844 and 1876.