2000 Guineas Tips, Betting Offers and Odds

2000 Guineas Preview: Tips, Betting Offers and Odds

With the Cheltenham Festival a distant memory, late April or (as in 2017) early May usually sees the first Classic of the British season take place at Newmarket. In 2020 though, due to the enforced break from racing, the first Classics take place in early June. 

Read on for the best odds, free bets and offers surrounding the 2000 Guineas, as well as our betting tips for the race.

A mile is the trip for this three year old contest which whilst open to fillies is predominantly only contested by colts. In addition to the prestige and enhanced breeding value which accompanies the winning of a Classic, there is also a total of £500,000 in prize money on offer. The 2000 Guineas is one of the biggest races around and we’ve got all you need to know to cash in right here.

There is some huge racing action over in the US this weekend too! Check out our Kentucky Derby betting tips for the lowdown!

2000 Guineas Tips and Betting Offers, Newmarket, 6th June 2020

Rarely has a Classic taken place in which the runners have had so little practice in the way of warm up races. But that shouldn’t trouble the odds-on favourite too much in this one.

The Charlie Appleby-trained Pinatubo won the Dewhurst Stakes at Newmarket back in October, getting the better of Arizona by two lengths. Arizona returns to have another attempt at beating Pinatubo here, and the second favourite is priced around the 5/1 mark, but given neither has raced since October, we have no reason to suspect a different outcome here.

Third favourite Kameko is a possible contender if the favourite fluffs his lines. Trained by Andrew Balding, the colt won a Group 1 race at Newcastle in November in fine style, but is significantly behind the favourite in terms of the official rating.

For us then, there is only one winner likely here and that is Pinatubo at odds of 10/11.  

Recent Race Winners

  • 2019 – Magna Grecia – jockey Donnacha O’Brien, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2018 – Saxon Warrior – jockey Donnacha O’Brien, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2017 – Churchill – jockey Ryan Moore, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2016 – Galileo Gold – jockey Frankie Dettori, trainer Hugo Palmer
  • 2015 – Gleneagles – jockey Ryan Moore, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2014 – Night Of Thunder – jockey Kieren Fallon, trainer Richard Hannon, Jnr.
  • 2013 – Dawn Approach – jockey Kevin Manning, trainer Jim Bolger
  • 2012 – Camelot – jockey Joseph O’Brien, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2011 – Frankel – jockey Tom Queally, trainer Henry Cecil
  • 2010 – Makfi – Christophe Lemaire, trainer Mikel Delzangles
  • 2009 – Sea The Stars – jockey Michael Kinane, trainer John Oxx
  • 2008 – Henrythenavigator – jockey Johnny Murtagh, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2007 – Cockney Rebel – jockey Olivier Peslier, trainer Geoff Huffer
  • 2006 – George Washington – jockey Kieren Fallon, trainer Aidan O’Brien

2000 Guineas History

Following its inaugural running over 200 years ago, it didn’t take long for this race to become established as one of the top three year old contests of the season. Together with The Epsom Derby and Doncaster’s St Leger, the race now forms what is known as the British Triple Crown.

As one would expect of a classic contest, there have been many notable winners of this over the years. Some of the most significant being:

1853 hero West Australian, who was the first horse ever to win the aforementioned Triple Crown. 12 years later French superstar Gladiateur become the first foreign raider to achieve this feat.

1868 was a notable year in that it featured the first, and so far only dead heat in the history of the race. The remarkable filly Formosa not only split the prize here, but also won the 1000 Guineas, Oaks and St Leger.

Many smart performers had won this race prior to 1886, but this was possibly the first year that a real all-time great took the prize. Ormonde became the fourth horse to win the Triple Crown and was unbeaten in 16 career starts in all. He is generally rated as being the highest class racehorse of the 19th Century.

In 1902 a super filly by the name of Sceptre went slightly better than Formosa by winning this race outright, in addition to the 1000 Guineas, Oaks and St Leger. No other horse has won four British Classics since.

1970 saw the brilliant Nijinsky win here for Vincent O’Brien, before following up in the Derby and St Leger. As of 2015 he is the latest horse to achieve the Triple Crown. It would take a good horse to overshadow these achievements in 1971. Brigadier Gerard was certainly a good horse. A winner of 17 of his 18 career starts, he is universally accepted as being one of the greatest racehorses of all time.

Dancing Brave is another name to feature on many a list of all-time greats. Indeed on most ratings lists there is only one racehorse in history superior to Dancing Brave who also took the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe in his Guineas winning season of 1986.

The only horse to top Dancing Brave, on ratings at least, is of course the imperious Frankel. Henry Cecil’s wonder horse included a victory in this race in 2011 as part of his 14 race unbeaten career.

Aidan O’Brien sits out in front amongst the trainers, with a highly impressive 10 wins in total after taking victory in 2015, 2017, 2018 and 2019.

Leading jockey in the race is one Jem Robinson. His nine victories in all included four in succession between the years of 1833 and 1836.

Also be sure to check out our 1000 Guineas offers and tips!