Epsom Derby Betting Tips and Offers

Each year in June, Epsom plays host to the most anticipated flat race of the British season. The name of that race is of course The Derby, and here we take a look at the best odds and offers as well as providing our betting tips for this historic contest.

The Epsom Derby first took place in 1779 and is run over 1m4f of the tracks famously undulating and turning terrain. A Group 1 contest for three year olds, there is now a whopping £750,000+ on offer to the winner in addition to Classic winning prestige.

The Derby Tips and Betting Offers, 4:30 at Epsom, 1 June 2019

The variety of flat racing is one of its key strengths but there’s no doubt that the most powerful trainers and owners most covet success in the biggest races over a mile and a half. That much is true even for the five Classics where the Derby, which is run over 1 mile 4 furlongs at Epsom Downs, is the richest of all. There’s the best part of £1 million up for grabs for the winner of the 2019 renewal on Saturday and no shortage of genuine contenders.

Broome the Pick of the Top Three

The Derby has been shaken up a little in the last couple of years. It’s still the same historic race, run over the same trip at Epsom Downs but we’ve seen a deviation in terms of the price of the winner. Some thought that Wings Of Eagles’ 2017 win at 40/1 (the biggest ever price of a Derby winner) was a fluke but when Masar went in at 16/1 last year punters were forced with having to rethink their approach.

Prior to 2017, the top three in the betting had a stranglehold in the Derby and we may see a return to the norm this year. There’s a three way tussle at the top between Sir Dragonet (3/1 with Ladbrokes), Broome (9/2 with Paddy Power) and Telecaster (5/1 with BetVictor). Money has come in for all three since Sir Dragonet and Telecaster were supplemented but it’s Broome who makes the most appeal.

The one issue that Broome faces in terms of trends for the Derby is that he has made more appearances than most previous Derby winners. There is nothing wrong with experience though and you couldn’t exactly say that he was worked hard in his most recent appearance. It was his performance prior to that in the Ballysax Stakes that really suggested he has the class to win at the top level and he may well be able to follow in the footsteps of his sire, Australia, by winning the Derby.

Which Long Shot to Get on Board?

Given the recent unpredictability of the Derby it could be sensible to have an each way shot on board in case of another upset. Line Of Duty would surpass even the odds of the Wings Of Eagles were he to win at 50/1 with bet365 which is obviously unlikely but he could throw down enough of a challenge to claim a place.

Charlie Appleby was very happy with Line Of Duty’s improvement as a two-year-old. He stepped up to the challenge, competing very well every time more was asked of him and he ended the season on a real high by winning the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf. His sole performance this season wasn’t exactly encouraging but the firm ground at York for the Dante Stakes gives him an excuse and 50/1 is surely too big.

Betting Predictions

If there is to be a return to the norm in the Derby and one of those at the head of the market wins, it is most likely to be Broome. He looks a safe option in terms of being able to cope with the trip and the size of the occassion whilst he is bred for this distance so is a good option to win the Derby at 9/2 with BetVictor. At the other end of the betting, Line Of Duty looks ready to spring another Epsom surprise at 50/1 with bet365.

Previous Winners

  • 2018 – Masar – jockey William Buick, trainer Charlie Appleby
  • 2017 – Wings Of Eagles – jockey Padraig Beggy, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2016 – Harzand – jockey Pat Smullen, trainer Dermot Weld
  • 2015 – Golden Horn – jockey Frankie Dettori, trainer John Gosden
  • 2014 – Australia – jockey Joseph O’Brien, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2013 – Ruler Of The World – jockey Ryan Moore, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2012 – Camelot – jockey Joseph O’Brien, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2011 – Pour Moi – jockey Mickael Barzalona, trainer Andre Fabre
  • 2010 – Workforce – jockey Ryan Moore, trainer Sir Michael Stoute
  • 2009 – Sea The Stars – jockey Michael Kinane, trainer John Oxx
  • 2008 – New Approach – jockey Kevin Manning, trainer Jim Bolger
  • 2007 – Authorized – jockey Frankie Dettori trainer Peter Chapple-Hyam
  • 2006 – Sir Percy – jockey, Martin Dwyer trainer Marcus Tregoning

Race History

From Diomed in 1779 to Golden Horn in 2015 , from the depths of the kidnapped Shergar and the ill-fated Humorist, who died just two weeks after his finest hour, to the heights of the breed shaping career at stud of Galileo, or the all conquering performances at the track of Sea The Stars, both triumph and disaster feature in the tales of previous Derby winners. Australia, Benny The Dip, Camelot, Dante, Erhaab, Fifinella, Galileo…..there is a star name for just about every letter in the alphabet in the history books here. To win this race is to earn your place in racing folklore.

It takes a pretty special horse to display the class and balance to win a Derby, whilst also possessing the speed for the 2000 Guineas and the stamina to win a St Leger. As of 2015, 15 horses have achieved the triple crown over the years, with the most famous being Nijinsky who swept all before him in 1970 in the hands of Lester Piggott.

The most famous British flat race of them all has not been without its fair share of controversy over the years. As early as 1805 a runner was brought down by a spectator, but worse was to follow over 100 years later. In 1913 suffragette Emily Davison decided to use the Derby as the stage for a high profile protest. Whether or not Emily intended to be struck by the King’s horse when stepping in front of the runners is a matter of some debate, but struck she was and sadly died four days later.

The 1844 edition meanwhile must go down as the most corrupt in the races history. All appeared in order as Running Rein cruised home in front in the premier three year old race of the season. Until that is, it was discovered that Running Rein wasn’t really called Running Rein at all, he was called Maccabeus, and he was four. Inevitable disqualification followed, with second placed finisher Orlando being awarded the race.

Ever popular with punters, there have been many grey’s tackle the downs over the years but as of 2015, only four have prevailed, and none since 1932.

Irish trainer extraordinaire Aidan O’Brien holds a couple of records here, being the first trainer to win the race three years in succession and also in partnership with Joseph O’Brien, being part of the only father and son combination to train and ride the winner. He is not however the most successful trainer in the races history. With seven wins apiece, that honour is shared between Robert Robson, John Porter and Fred Darling. “The Long Fellow” himself, Lester Piggott is top of the tree amongst the jockeys with nine wins.

Take a look at our tips and offers for the Epsom Oaks too! We’ve got more of the same for the Coronation Cup as well.