Coronation Cup Tips, Betting Offers and Odds

Coronation Cup Preview: Tips, Betting Offers and Odds, 3.35 at Newmarket

The 2020 renewal of the Coronation Cup takes place at Newmarket after the enforced break from racing. Look no further for the best odds, offers and betting tips surrounding the historic Coronation Cup.

First run at Epsom in 1902, this Group 1, 1m4f contest, for runners aged four and older, now offers £375,000 in total prize money.

Coronation Cup Tips and Betting Offers, 3:35 at Newmarket, 5th June 2020

The first really big race of the flat racing season (after the enforced break from the action) comes on Friday with the Coronation Cup. Shifted from its usual Epsom home to Newmarket for this renewal, we have a seven-runner field that is packed full of quality.

Ordinarily, when Stradivarius runs he goes in as favourite, as has been the case for his last nine races, seven of which saw him odds-on. But for the Coronation Cup, the John Gosden-trained six year old is only vying to be the second favourite (with Roger Varian’s Defoe, both around the 3/1 mark).

The market leader at the time of writing is Charlie Appleby’s Millennium Stakes winner Gahiyyath. The five year old impressed over 1m2f at Meydan in February when he won by eight and half lengths. His only run at Newmarket came back in 2017 when he won twice on the Rowley mile in quick succession. But at odds of 6/5 we’re happy to take him on here.

This is a shorter trip than Stradivarius usually goes for, but it is bang on the money for last year’s Coronation Cup winner, Defoe. Though this will be at a different track, we think Defoe has what it takes to get the win again and odds of 3/1 or up to 7/2 in some places look decent value to us.

Coronation Cup Previous Winners

  • 2019 – Defoe – jockey Andrea Atzeni, trainer Roger Varian
  • 2018 – Cracksman – jockey Frankie Dettori, trainer John Gosden
  • 2017 – Highland Reel – jockey Ryan Moore, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2016 – Postponed – jockey Andrea Atzeni, trainer Roger Varian
  • 2015 – Pether’s Moon – jockey Pat Dobbs, trainer Richard Hannon, Jr.
  • 2014 – Cirrus des Aigles – jockey Christophe Soumillon, trainer Corine Barande-Barbe
  • 2013 – St Nicholas Abbey – jockey Joseph O’Brien, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2012 – St Nicholas Abbey – jockey Joseph O’Brien, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2011 – St Nicholas Abbey – jockey Ryan Moore, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2010 – Fame And Glory – jockey Johnny Murtagh, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2009 – Ask – jockey Ryan Moore, trainer Sir Michael Stoute
  • 2008 – Soldier Of Fortune – jockey Johnny Murtagh, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2007 – Scorpion – jockey Michael Kinane, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2006 – Shirocco – jockey Christophe Soumillon, trainer André Fabre

Race History and Stats

With the three year old colts and fillies getting the chance to tackle the mile and a half of Epsom’s Derby track in the The Derby and The Oaks respectively, The Coronation Cup provides the same opportunity to the older horses in training. Unsurprisingly given the unique challenge of Epsom, runners to have previously performed well in an Oaks or Derby regularly show up in this event.

The inaugural running of the race came over 100 years ago in 1902 and was initiated in order to honour the crowning of the new king. The coronation of the title referring to that of King Edward VII.

There have been many excellent winners of this over the years, and it didn’t take long for the first real superstar to add her name to the roll of honour. In taking this race in 1905 and 1906 the triple-crown winning filly Pretty Polly became the first multiple winner of this contest. Four others have recorded two wins in the race since that time, but the most prolific in the races history is Aidan O’Brien’s globe-trotting superstar, St Nicholas Abbey who won three in a row between the years of 2011 and 2013.

Probably the highest class winner is a horse who never fails to gain an honourable mention in discussions regarding the greatest of all time. Mill Reef won twelve times in 14 career starts, including the Derby, Eclipse, King George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes and the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe in an all-conquering 1971 season, before winning this race in 1972 prior to being retired due to injury.

One of the highest earners to come home front is the 1997 winner Singspiel. Something of a late developer the Sir Michael Stoute trained colt only really began to fly during his four year old season. Having finished second in the 1996 edition of this, he arrived in 1997 with the spoils from the richest race in the world, April’s Dubai World Cup already in the bag.

St Nicholas Abbey’s hat trick was enough to propel Aidan O’Brien to the top of the trainer’s table. What is most remarkable about this feat is that his first seven wins were achieved in the space of just nine years between 2005 and 2013. His 2017 victory with Highland Reel taking him to eight wins. Lester Piggott is the top jockey with nine victories.

France have landed the race on many occasions over the years so Cirrus des Aigles victory in 2014 was far from a first. What was unique however was that, at eight years of age , Cirrus des Aigles became the oldest winner in the history of the race.

Take a look at our Derby betting offers, betting tips and offers for The Oaks!