Queen Anne Stakes Tips, Offers and Odds – 19 June 2018

Queen Anne Stakes, Preview: Tips, Betting Offers and Odds, 2.30 at Ascot, 19 June 2018

One of the highlights on a spectacular opening day at Royal Ascot is the Queen Anne Stakes. Read on for the best odds, offers, betting tips and more.

Run over the straight mile at Ascot, this Group 1 contest open to runners aged four and older first took place in 1840. Prize money has grown steadily over time with the race receiving a big cash injection in recent years, resulting in a bumper total purse of £600,000.

Queen Anne Stakes Betting Offers 2018

Royal Ascot Non Runner No Bet Offer Betfred

  • Totesport Non Runner No Bet – Totesport are offering NRNB on all Royal Ascot 2018 races. Significant Terms: Applies to bets placed from 08:00 on 11/06/18. Non Runners refunded in cash. Full T&Cs Apply.
  • Betfred Non Runner No Bet – Betfred are also offering NRNB on all Royal Ascot 2018 races. Significant Terms: Applies to bets placed from 08:00 on 11/06/18. Tote bets do no apply. Non Runners refunded in cash. Full T&Cs Apply.
  • Offers coming soon. In the meantime check out the latest bookie offers and free bets.

Queen Anne Stakes Betting Tips

  • Benbatl to win at 11/2 with Coral
  • Lightning Spear each way at 8/1 with Ladbrokes

Queen Anne Stakes 2018 Race Preview and Betting Tips

Royal Ascot is the number one flat racing meeting anywhere in the world and it gets off to an absolutely cracking start thanks to the Queen Anne Stakes. This Group 1 contest is the premier mile long contest for older horses. A number of horses who competed in last year’s Classics are set to go to post in what looks a great renewal of the Queen Anne Stakes.

Rhododendron and Benbatl to Fight It Out for Royal Ascot Glory

The Queen Anne Stakes is always an incredibly competitive race. It’s no surprise then that the bookies are finding it tough to separate the principle contenders. Money has come in for Recoletos in the run up to Royal Ascot but the winner should come from the two who are at the head of the betting, Rhododendron and Benbatl.

Rhododendron’s billing as the tentative favourite with the bookies is largely down to her win in the Lockinge Stakes at Newbury in May. Performances in the Lockinge have proven to be a valuable indicator for punters looking for a winning Queen Anne bet. Previous winners have also usually run well in the Guineas or the St James’s Palace Stakes before which is good news for Rhododendron’s connections but this could be the year to take a punt on an improving sort.

Benbatl was unable to secure Group 1 success as a three-year-old. Not every top quality horse finds their feet at three and the Godolphin colt made big stride forward during an extended stay in Dubai at the start of the year. His Meydan performances culminated in a maiden Group 1 success in the Dubai Turf over one mile, one furlong and his trainer, Saeed Bin Suroor has had plenty of success with horses who mature later into their careers.

You cannot write off the chance of either Rhododendron or Recoletos but Benbatl stands out as the value at 11/2 with Coral.

Lightning Spear Worthy of Support After Lockinge Performance

While many of Lightning Spear’s flat racing rivals took an extended break during the winter, David Simcock’s seven-year-old flew halfway round the world for a race in Hong Kong. He could only finish 10th of 14 that day but fortunately there was no hangover from those exertions.

On Lightning Spear’s seasonal reappearance he finished second to Rhododendron at the Lockinge by a short head. The veteran proves that he is still very competitive in a mile division which has several key players especially when he gets the good to firm ground that is expected at Ascot. The Lockinge performance suggests that Lightning Spear could well reverse the form against Rhododendron when they meet in the Royal Ascot opener so he is well worth backing each way at a best price of 8/1 with Ladbrokes.

Suedois Tempting at Big Odds

2017 was a transformational year for Suedois. David O’Meara’s gelding was stepped up in trip to a mile and was all the better for it. The seven-year-old may not quite have the class of the principle players in the Queen Anne Stakes but at 20/1 with Bet365 he is another one to consider for an each way play.

Queen Anne Stakes Previous Winners

  • 2017 – Ribchester – jockey William Buick, trainer Richard Fahey
  • 2016 – Tepin – jockey Julien Leparoux, trainer Mark Casse
  • 2015 – Solow – jockey Maxime Guyon, trainer Freddy Head
  • 2014 – Toronado – jockey Richard Hughes, trainer Richard Hannon, Jr.
  • 2013 – Declaration Of War – jockey Joseph O’Brien, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2012 – Frankel – jockey Tom Queally, trainer Sir Henry Cecil
  • 2011 – Canford Cliffs – jockey Richard Hughes, trainer Richard Hannon, Sr.
  • 2010 – Goldikova – jockey Olivier Peslier, trainer Freddy Head
  • 2009 – Paco Boy – jockey Richard Hughes, trainer Richard Hannon, Sr.
  • 2008 – Haradasun – jockey Johnny Murtagh, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2007 – Ramonti – jockey Frankie Dettori, trainer Saeed bin Suroor
  • 2006 – Ad Valorem – jockey Kieren Fallon, trainer Aidan O’Brien

Queen Anne Stakes History

This contest has been with us in one form or another since back in 1840, but only took on its current conditions as recently as 2003. Initially going under the moniker of the Trial Stakes, it was only given its current title in 1930. Having founded Ascot racecourse, it certainly seems fair that Queen Anne should have a high class race named in her honour. Not that it was always quite so prestigious an affair.

Having initially been granted Group 3 status only in 1971 it took another 32 years for it to be recognised as a Group 1. It was not only the class of the race which was altered in this year but also the type of horse allowed to compete. Three year olds had previously been permitted to take part, but now only those aged four and older may be entered.

The earliest winners of this race aren’t the types of horse to feature prominently in a history of racings brilliant milers, but the standard has certainly risen over time, particularly since the race was granted Group 2 status in 1984. Barathea, Intikhab, and Cape Cross all won this in the 90’s. Smart performers one and all who have gone on to make their mark at stud. Spectacularly so in the case of Cape Cross who has already sired, Sea The Stars, Golden Horn and Ouija Board.

Any doubts about whether the race would attract the quality of runner to do justice to its new Group 1 status in 2003 were quickly dispelled, as the previous year’s 2000 Guineas hero Refuse To Bend took the prize in 2004. With Paco Boy, Goldikova, Canford Cliffs, Solow and Frankel counting amongst the winners since then, the race is now firmly established as one of the premier one mile contests of the season.

Godolphin and Saeed bin Suroor top the leading owners and trainers tables respectively, courtesy of a golden period between the years of 1996 and 2007, where the powerful combination accounted for seven of the twelve winners of this race. Frankie Dettori was the man doing the steering on five of those occasions, with his win aboard Ramonti, which was his sixth in the race in all, putting him into a tie with Sir Gordon Richards as the leading jockey here.

Amongst the horses there are four to have posted two wins in the race. It’s fair to say the fifth to do so has been a long time in coming, as not since Dean Swift in 1906 and 1907 has the double been achieved.