Duke of Cambridge Stakes Tips, Betting Offers

Duke of Cambridge Stakes Preview: Tips, Betting Offers and Odds

The opening day at the Royal Ascot meeting this year sees the fillies in the spotlight in the Duke of Cambridge Stakes. Here we take a look at the best odds and betting offers available, and provide our betting tips for the race.

Now offering £175,000 in total prize money, this one mile, Group 2 contest, for older fillies and mares was first run at the track in 2004. It may be one of the newer races but even so, it carries a lot of prestige and is a great betting and racing spectacle.

Previous Race Winners

  • 2019 – Move Swiftly – jockey Daniel Tudhope, trainer William Haggas
  • 2018 – Aljazzi – jockey William Buick, trainer Marco Botti
  • 2017 – Qemah – jockey Gregory Benoist, trainer Jean-Claude Rouget
  • 2016 – Usherette – jockey Mickael Barzalona, trainer Andre Fabre
  • 2015 – Amazing Maria – jockey James Doyle, trainer David O’Meara
  • 2014 – Integral – jockey Ryan Moore, trainer Sir Michael Stoute
  • 2013 – Duntle – jockey Wayne Lordan, trainer David Wachman
  • 2012 – Joviality – jockey William Buick, trainer John Gosden
  • 2011 – Lolly for Dolly – jockey Wayne Lordan, trainer Tommy Stack
  • 2010 – Strawberrydaiquiri – jockey Ryan Moore, trainer Sir Michael Stoute
  • 2009 – Spacious – jockey Johnny Murtagh, trainer James Fanshawe
  • 2008 – Sabana Perdida – jockey Christophe Lemaire, trainer Alain de Royer-Dupré
  • 2007 – Nannina – jockey Jimmy Fortune, trainer John Gosden
  • 2006 – Soviet Song – jockey Jamie Spencer, trainer James Fanshawe

Duke of Cambridge Stakes History

This contest is one of the newest races to appear at Royal Ascot and came about as part of an incentive to keep older fillies and mares in training beyond their Classic season. With a dearth of suitable targets, many highly rated fillies were either sent to race abroad or retired to stud at the end of their three year old campaign. Initially titled the Windsor Forest Stakes, the race was renamed in 2013 to honour one of the most popular members of the Royal Family, Prince William Duke of Cambridge.

The contest has certainly proved to be a welcome addition to the Royal Ascot schedule, attracting high class older fillies and proving popular with owners and trainers alike.

Soviet Song was the joint highest rated older filly in the world at the end of 2005, and lived up to that lofty assessment when taking this in fine style in 2006. As of 2015 the James Fanshawe-trained filly remains the oldest winner in the history of the race at six years of age.

2008 was notable as the first year in which the contest was won by a filly not trained in England. Alain De Royer Dupre’s Sabana Perdida had a fine record when crossing the channel, winning a Group 3 at Lingfield and finishing third in the 2008 Queen Elizabeth II Stakes in addition to landing this prize for France for the first time.

Ireland had to wait a little longer for their first win in the race when Lolly For Dolly struck for Tommy Stack and Wayne Lordan in 2011.

As of 2015 no filly had managed to win this race more than once. 2009 winner Spacious couldn’t have come much closer though, finishing just a short head behind Strawberrydaiquiri when bidding to follow up in 2010.

Newmarket handler Sir Michael Stoute certainly got off to a flyer here in landing the first two editions of the race, with Favourable Terms in 2004 and Peeress in 2005. Having recorded further success in 2010 and 2014, Stoute leads the way amongst the trainers with four wins.

Stoute’s partner in crime aboard Strawberrydaiquiri in 2010 and Integral in 2014 was the brilliant Ryan Moore. As of 2015 Moore and Wayne Lordan were the only jockeys to have won this race more than once with two victories apiece.

One notable feature of the early editions of the race was the success of runners hailing from the Cheveley Park Stud breeding operation. In the first seven editions of the race, Cheveley Park Stud recorded an impressive three wins and four second place finishes.