Betfair Chase Tips, Betting Offers and Odds – 23rd November 2019

Here we have betting tips for the Betfair Chase, including the best odds and offers for the race brought to us from Haydock Park.

Betfair Chase Tips and Betting Offers, 2:25, 23rd November 2019

Haydock Park is not a track that suits every horse. It’s known throughout racing as favouring so called ‘mudlarks’ who enjoy nothing more than running on the soft, often boggy conditions found at the track. The Betfair Chase has certainly favoured horses who relish on soft ground in the past with Bristol De Mai winning the last two renewals. He returns to Haydock looking for to complete the hat-trick but will the favourite oblige his backers?

Bristol’s Run Could Come to an End

Bristol De Mai’s previous exploits at Haydock have seen him earn great popularity amongst regular attendees to the Merseyside course. Punters have also won a fair amount of profit from the bookies by backing Nigel Twiston-Davies’ grey at Haydock.

Twiston-Davies used the Betfair Chase as Bristol De Mai’s first race of last season. His win would be the platform from which he launched an assault on three more Grade 1s. However, he came up short in each of the King George, Gold Cup and the Betway Bowl. Punters are willing to forgive him those performances and back him for a triumphant return to Haydock but he faces a huge challenge from Lostintranslation.

Unlike the favourite, Lostintranslation has already had a run this season to ensure he is in tip top shape for the Betfair Chase. That run came in a 2 mile 4 furlong Listed chase where he justified 1/2 favouritism. This is a big step up in trip to 3 miles 1½ furlongs and in class but he will once again face just three rivals. That should allow Robbie Power to carry out the pre-race plan without too many problems.

Lostintranslation showed during his novice chasing campaign that he relishes the longer trips. He’s also a very good jumper who has a real chance of landing some very big races in the coming season, including the Betfair Chase.

Don’t Write Frodon Off

With just four runners in the field it’s not possible to have an each way bet in the 2019 Betfair Chase. Still, those looking for a bigger payout from this Grade 1 should consider the chances of Frodon at 11/2 with Coral. He too has had a run to blow away the cobwebs after taking the summer off.

Many of Paul Nicholls’ string have improved considerably for their first run of the season. Similar improvement from Frodon may well be enough for him to win. The seven-year-old certainly had no problem winning during last season and his quality jumping may be enough for him to upset the top two in the betting.

Betting Predictions

Bristol De Mai’s record at Haydock means that he is a worthy favourite for the Betfair Chase. He loves the course and is a very good operator over this trip. However, Lostintranslation could kick on to be a special chaser who is capable of winning at a higher level than the favourite so must be considered good betting value at 6/4 with bet365.

Betfair Chase Previous Winners

  • 2018 – Bristol De Mai – jockey Daryl Jacob, trainer Nigel Twiston-Davies
  • 2017 – Bristol De Mai – jockey Daryl Jacob, trainer Nigel Twiston-Davies
  • 2016 – Cue Card – jockey Paddy Brennan, trainer Colin Tizzard
  • 2015 – Cue Card – jockey Paddy Brennan, trainer Colin Tizzard
  • 2014 – Silviniaco Conti – jockey Noel Fehily, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2013 – Cue Card – jockey Joe Tizzard, trainer Colin Tizzard
  • 2012 – Silviniaco Conti – jockey Ruby Walsh, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2011 – Kauto Star – jockey Ruby Walsh, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2010 – Imperial Commander – jockey Paddy Brennan, trainer Nigel Twiston-Davies
  • 2009 – Kauto Star – jockey Ruby Walsh, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2008 – Snoopy Loopy – jockey Seamus Durack, trainer Peter Bowen
  • 2007 – Kauto Star – jockey Sam Thomas, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2006 – Kauto Star – jockey Ruby Walsh, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2005 – Kingscliff – jockey Robert Walford, trainer Robert Alner

Betfair Chase History

The Betfair Chase is a Grade 1 National Hunt Steeplechase ran at Haydock Park. It is ran over a three mile distance with a total of 18 fences across the course for it’s competitors to overcome. It has been ran every year since 2005, and is open to all five-year-old horses and up. This is the first Grade 1 event of the British National Hunt season, attracting only the finest horses, jockeys and trainers to this one.

The Betfair Chase, which is registered as the Lancashire Chase, was formerly the first part of the Betfair Million scheme. This scheme was dropped in 2010 but originally gave the opportunity for the winner of the Betfair Chase to win a sum of £1,000,000 if they were to go on to win both the King George VI Chase and then the Cheltenham Gold Cup or the Lexus Chase. Later in the 2008/9 season any first-three finisher had the chance of winning this prize fund if they were to come first or second in the Cheltenham Festival and then winning the Grand National.

Kauto Star is the most successful horse over the race’s relatively short history, with four wins overall in 2006, 2007, 2009 and 2011. Kauto Star’s jockey on the first three of these triumphs, Ruby Walsh, holds the record as the most successful jockey in this race as a result. Walsh has actually won the Betfair Chase on four separate occasions, the first three with Kauto Star, and more recently on Silvianaco Conti in 2012. Silvianaco Conti and Kauto Star are two winners here who have both been trained by the record holding trainer in this event, Paul Nicholls. Nicholls has managed to train an astonishing six of the ten horses to have ever been triumphant in this one.

Since Kauto Star won this race in the second year of its running in 2006 for Nicholls, the trainer has never lost two Betfair Chase’s consecutively. Robert Alner in 2005, Peter Bowen in 2008, Nigel Twiston-Davies in 2010 and Colin Tizzard in 2013 are the only occasions that the trainer from Lydney, Gloucestershire has been unsuccessful. Kauto Star also holds the record for the oldest horse to have ever won this one, aged 11. Surprisingly he too, along with Silviniaco Conti, is the youngest horse to win this one, both were six-years-old when they first won.