Breeders’ Cup Classic Tips, Betting Offers and Odds

Breeders’ Cup Classic Preview: Tips, Betting Offers and Odds, Del Mar, 4th November 2017

Here we have available some of the best odds and betting tips for the grand finale of the thoroughbred racing calendar, the Breeders’ Cup Classic.

This is one of the biggest races of the series and always attracts a brilliant field and some brilliant racing betting offers. By far the most lucrative race of the Breeders’ Cup, the Classic is a weight for age race over 2000m, a mile and a half.


  • Arrogate To Win at 5/2 with Ladbrokes
  • West Coast each way at 6/1 with Coral

Free Bets and Betting Offers

Breeders’ Cup Classic 2017 Betting Tips

The grand finale to this Saturday’s excellent Breeders’ Cup meeting comes in the ninth and final race; the 2017 Breeders’ Cup Classic. Won by some of the true legends of the game – horses of the ilk of A.P. Indy, Cigar, Zenyatta and American Pharaoh – the race offers a whopping $6million in total prize money and is one of the highlights of the American and global racing year. Here we pick out our best bets for this year’s renewal.

The best horse in this race- if all are to be judged on their career best efforts- is undoubtedly the Bob Baffert trained four year old Arrogate. Four times a winner at the highest level, and having amassed more prize money than any horse in North American racing history, he will be having the final start of his career here and bidding to go out on a high.

The only trouble for supporters is that since returning from a break in August, he hasn’t looked anything like the horse who won this in such thrilling style 12 months ago. Stuffed at odds of 1/20 two starts back, he was then narrowly turned over last time out over this track and trip. It may be that he is being shrewdly brought to hand ahead of his big day, but he certainly doesn’t look the irresistible force that swept this, the Pegasus and the Dubai World Cup last year.

Arrogate isn’t the only dart Baffert has to throw at this valuable board though, with Collected, Mubtaahij and West Coast also going for the prolific handler. Collected and West Coast in particular look to hold live claims, arriving at the track seeking a five timer and six timer respectively. Collected has the benefit of already posting a win at the track, whilst West Coast may well be the most progressive runner in the field.

If the prize is not to fall to Baffert, then Steve Asmussen’s Gun Runner looks the most likely to claim glory. Only third in the Breeders’ Cup Mile here last year, he has positively thrived this season, winning his past three Grade 1 starts by a combined 22+ lengths. His two career starts against Arrogate however have yielded two defeats to the tune of 17 ¼ lengths.

Betting Predictions

At the tail end of last season it would have been hard to believe we would be able to back Arrogate at as big as 5/2 here. Despite his two recent defeats, it’s a price we simply can’t resist. We trust Baffert to have him primed and ready for his big day and will be backing him to become the first back to back winner since Tiznow in 2001. We like West Coast for an each way option, with the three year old having done nothing but impress of late and looking likely to hit the frame.

Breeders’ Cup Classic Previous Winners

  • 2016 – Arrogate – jockey Mike E Smith, trainer Bob Baffert
  • 2015 – American Pharoah – jockey Victor Espinoza, trainer Bob Baffert
  • 2014 – Bayern – jockey Martin Garcia, trainer Bob Baffert
  • 2013 – Mucho Macho Man – jockey Gary Stevens, trainer Kathy Ritvo
  • 2012 – Fort Larned – jockey Brian Joseph Hernandez Jr, trainer Ian Wilkes
  • 2011 – Drosselmeyer – jockey Mike E Smith, trainer William Mott
  • 2010 – Blame – jockey G K Gomez, trainer Albert M Stall Jr
  • 2009 – Zenyatta – jockey Mike E Smith, trainer John Shirreffs
  • 2008 – Raven’s Pass – jockey Frankie Dettori, trainer John Gosden
  • 2007 – Curlin – jockey Robby Albarado, trainer Steven Asmussen
  • 2006 – Invasor – jockey Fernando Jara, trainer Kiaran McLaughlin
  • 2005 – Saint Liam – jockey J D Bailey, trainer Richard Dutrow Jr

Race History

This is the grand finale event of the Breeders’ Cup World Championships and is the climax of the thoroughbred racing calendar in the US. The race is held at a different track each year and as of 2015 had only left the US once, with the 1996 renewal being held at Toronto’s Woodbine. The Breeders’ Cup Classic is a class one race for three-year-olds and older, and is run over a 10 furlong distance on dirt and is a weight for age race in which three- and four-year-olds have enjoyed most success.

It is the richest race in all of North America and so therefore draws in some of the year’s best performing thoroughbreds from across the world. With its prize fund amounting to over double that of any other race across the weekend, this is the contest that all spectators are waiting for. There are just 14 starting places for horses to fill in this race, with half of these being allocated automatically to those who triumph during The Breeders’ Cup Challenge and the rest decided by a panel of experts.

The Classic has been notoriously difficult to predict due to the highly selective nature of its participants, with each of the competitors earning their right to participate through their individual successes throughout the season. The status that comes with winning this race has proved decisive in the awarding of the US Horse of the Year honours, after four of the Classic winners between 2004 and 2007 went on to be rewarded with this accolade.

This prestigious race has accumulated a great number of world-class thoroughbreds, jockeys and trainers during its history. Chris McCarron and Jerry Bailey go down in the record books as legends in this particular race, both winning the Classic on five occasions each, spanning from 1988 until 2005. There are only a few trainers who have managed to win this one more than once, giving us an insight into the unpredictability of such a fascinating contest.

In 2011 William Mott joined the trio of handlers to boast two Breeders’ Cup Classic victories, alongside Charlie Whittingham and Jay M. Robbins. However, last year Bob Baffert made it three wins in a row to really cement his place in the history of this race.

It truly is an astonishing feat for a single jockey or trainer to be successful on multiple occasions here and this is made evident when viewing the past decade of results in this race – Mike E. Smith is the only jockey who has appeared on this triumphant list twice, winning the race for a fourth time in his career in 2016. Two jockeys have won it five times: Chris McCarron and Jerry Bailey.

From an owner’s perspective, just one person has ever possessed two Breeders’ Cup Classic winning horses – Stronach Stables has been successful with Awesome Again in 1998 and the record-time holder Ghostzapper in 2004.

Check out our Breeders Cup Mile betting tips as well as our Filly and Mare Turf tips and Breeders’ Cup Turf preview and offers too!