Queen Anne Stakes Tips, Offers and Odds

Queen Anne Stakes, Preview: Tips, Betting Offers and Odds

One of the highlights on a spectacular opening day at Royal Ascot is the Queen Anne Stakes. Read on for the best odds, offers, betting tips and more.

Run over the straight mile at Ascot, this Group 1 contest open to runners aged four and older first took place in 1840. Prize money has grown steadily over time with the race receiving a big cash injection in recent years, resulting in a bumper total purse of £600,000.

Queen Anne Stakes Tips and Betting Offers, 1:50 at Royal Ascot, 16 June 2020

Aidan O’Brien’s 5/2 favourite Circus Maximus has been attracting a fair bit of attention ahead of this race, the first Group 1 of the 2020 Royal Ascot meeting. A fourth place finish in the Breeders’ Cup Mile is not to be sniffed at, after all. And clearly his victory in last year’s St James’s Palace Stakes at Royal Ascot goes a long way to persuading punters to back him for this.

For us though, it is the second favourite, John Gosden’s Terebellum, who offers the better value. With Frankie Dettori on board, the filly won at Newmarket just 10 days before this race, and we think that run out will stand her in excellent stead here. 

Queen Anne Stakes Previous Winners

  • 2019 – Lord Glitters – jockey Daniel Tudhope, trainer Charlie O’Meara
  • 2018 – Accidental Agent – jockey Charlie Bishop, trainer Eve Johnson Houghton
  • 2017 – Ribchester – jockey William Buick, trainer Richard Fahey
  • 2016 – Tepin – jockey Julien Leparoux, trainer Mark Casse
  • 2015 – Solow – jockey Maxime Guyon, trainer Freddy Head
  • 2014 – Toronado – jockey Richard Hughes, trainer Richard Hannon, Jr.
  • 2013 – Declaration Of War – jockey Joseph O’Brien, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2012 – Frankel – jockey Tom Queally, trainer Sir Henry Cecil
  • 2011 – Canford Cliffs – jockey Richard Hughes, trainer Richard Hannon, Sr.
  • 2010 – Goldikova – jockey Olivier Peslier, trainer Freddy Head
  • 2009 – Paco Boy – jockey Richard Hughes, trainer Richard Hannon, Sr.
  • 2008 – Haradasun – jockey Johnny Murtagh, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2007 – Ramonti – jockey Frankie Dettori, trainer Saeed bin Suroor
  • 2006 – Ad Valorem – jockey Kieren Fallon, trainer Aidan O’Brien

Queen Anne Stakes History

This contest has been with us in one form or another since back in 1840, but only took on its current conditions as recently as 2003. Initially going under the moniker of the Trial Stakes, it was only given its current title in 1930. Having founded Ascot racecourse, it certainly seems fair that Queen Anne should have a high class race named in her honour. Not that it was always quite so prestigious an affair.

Having initially been granted Group 3 status only in 1971 it took another 32 years for it to be recognised as a Group 1. It was not only the class of the race which was altered in this year but also the type of horse allowed to compete. Three year olds had previously been permitted to take part, but now only those aged four and older may be entered.

The earliest winners of this race aren’t the types of horse to feature prominently in a history of racings brilliant milers, but the standard has certainly risen over time, particularly since the race was granted Group 2 status in 1984. Barathea, Intikhab, and Cape Cross all won this in the 90’s. Smart performers one and all who have gone on to make their mark at stud. Spectacularly so in the case of Cape Cross who has already sired, Sea The Stars, Golden Horn and Ouija Board.

Any doubts about whether the race would attract the quality of runner to do justice to its new Group 1 status in 2003 were quickly dispelled, as the previous year’s 2000 Guineas hero Refuse To Bend took the prize in 2004. With Paco Boy, Goldikova, Canford Cliffs, Solow and Frankel counting amongst the winners since then, the race is now firmly established as one of the premier one mile contests of the season.

Godolphin and Saeed bin Suroor top the leading owners and trainers tables respectively, courtesy of a golden period between the years of 1996 and 2007, where the powerful combination accounted for seven of the twelve winners of this race. Frankie Dettori was the man doing the steering on five of those occasions, with his win aboard Ramonti, which was his sixth in the race in all, putting him into a tie with Sir Gordon Richards as the leading jockey here.

Amongst the horses there are four to have posted two wins in the race. It’s fair to say the fifth to do so has been a long time in coming, as not since Dean Swift in 1906 and 1907 has the double been achieved.