Ladbrokes Trophy Chase Tips, Betting Offers and Odds – 30 Nov 2019

Ladbrokes Trophy Preview: Tips, Betting Offers and Odds, 3.00 at Newbury, Saturday 30th November 2019

The Ladbrokes Trophy has changed name a number of times in recent years but it is has been such a popular race over the years that it is still known by many racing fans as the Hennessy Gold Cup.

As always it looks set to be an incredibly exciting race and it’s one you will not want to miss. The three mile two furlong race is one of the most popular grade three races of the National Hunt season and it sees horses take on 21 jumps around Newbury’s left-handed racecourse. Read on for our tips and some great offers from the best racing bookies about!

Ladbrokes Trophy Betting Tips

Odds correct at the time of writing and are subject to change.

  • Tips coming soon…

Ladbrokes Trophy Betting Offers

Ladbrokes Trophy Tips and Odds

Race preview coming soon.

Previous Winners

  • 2018 – Sizing Tennessee – jockey Tom Scudamore, trainer Colin Tizzard
  • 2017 – Total Recall – jockey Paul Townend, trainer Willie Mullins
  • 2016 – Native River – jockey Richard Johnson, trainer Colin Tizzard
  • 2015 – Smad Place – jockey Wayne Hutchinson, trainer Alan King
  • 2014 – Many Clouds – jockey Leighton Aspell, trainer Oliver Sherwood
  • 2013 – Triolo D’Alene – jockey Barry Geraghty, trainer Nicky Henderson
  • 2012 – Bobs Worth – jockey Barry Geraghty, trainer Nicky Henderson
  • 2011 – Carruthers – jockey Mattie Batchelor, trainer Mark Bradstock
  • 2010 – Diamond Harry – jockey Daryl Jacob, trainer Nick Williams
  • 2009 – Denman – jockey Ruby Walsh, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2008 – Madison du Berlais – jockey Tom Scudamore, trainer David Pipe
  • 2007 – Denman – jockey Sam Thomas, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2006 – State of Play – jockey Paul Moloney, trainer Evan Williams
  • 2005 – Trabolgan – jockey Mick Fitzgerald, trainer Nicky Henderson

Ladbrokes Trophy (Hennessy Gold Cup) History

The Ladbrokes Trophy Chase – formerly known as the Hennessy Gold Cup – is run over a three mile and two and a half furlong distance at Newbury racecourse. Over the distance there are 21 fences to be jumped by the competitors in this one. This is a Grade 3 National Hunt chase for four-year-olds or older and has been ran since 1957, although originally it was held at Cheltenham for the first three years of its existence.

Until 2016, the Hennessy Gold Cup was in fact British racing’s longest commercially sponsored race, having been supported by Hennessy since its founding. Ladbrokes took over the sponsorship in 2017. The winning horse in the race’s first run was Mandarin, a six-year-old owned by Peggy Hennessy, a member of the previously sponsoring family. The same horse won again in 1961, the second year it had been ran at Newbury.

Amazingly eight of the winners here have gone on to win in the Cheltenham Gold Cup, most recently this was achieved by Bobs Worth when he won the Cheltenham leg in 2013. Many Clouds over the last couple of years became the first horse to win both the Hennessy Gold Cup and the Grand National.

With the two victories achieved by Mandarin in 1957 and 1961, he actually jointly holds the record in this race’s history for the most wins for a horse. Two other horses have achieved this feat, Arkle and Denman. Arkle is the only horse to win in two consecutive years of the race with wins in 1964 and 1965, and then Denman being the most recent to win twice with wins in 2007 and 2009. The record-holding Mandarin, also has ties to the most successful jockey and trainer too.

Willie Robinson was in the saddle when Mandarin ran out victorious in 1961, and he was also the jockey in 1963 and 1968 when Mill House and Man of the West won respectively. These three horse on which Robinson was triumphant were all trained by the legendary Fulke Walwyn. Walwyn had a total of seven successful runners here between 1957 and 1981.

Astonishingly, he is just one of four trainers to have ever had one of his horses win in consecutive years, the others being Tom Dreaper with Arkle in 1964 and 1965, David Barons in 1986 and 1987 and most recently Nicky Henderson in 2012 and 2013. From a jockey’s point of view, there have also only been four jockeys to have won in consecutive years, with the most recent being Barry Geraghty who won on Nicky Henderson’s two winners.