Epsom Derby Betting Tips and Offers – 1 June 2019

The Derby Preview: Tips, Betting Offers and Odds, 4.30 at Epsom, 1st June 2019

Each year in June, Epsom plays host to the most anticipated flat race of the British season. The name of that race is of course The Derby, and here we take a look at the best odds and offers as well as providing our betting tips for this historic contest.

The Epsom Derby first took place in 1779 and is run over 1m4f of the tracks famously undulating and turning terrain. A Group 1 contest for three year olds, there is now a whopping £750,000+ on offer to the winner in addition to Classic winning prestige.

The Derby Betting Tips

Odds correct at the time of writing and are subject to change.

  • Too Darn Hot To Win at 9/2 with Betfair
  • Line of Duty Each Way at 16/1 with bet365

The Derby 2019 Betting Offers

The following offers, free bets and enhanced odds are for new customers only unless stated, 18+ and Ts and Cs apply.

  • CORAL BET £5, GET £20 IN FREE BETS – 18+. UK+IRE only. Min first bet £5 at odds 1/2 or more. Tote and Pool excluded. Must be placed within 14 days of account reg. £20 credited as 4 x £5 free bets. Not valid with Cash Out. Free bet valid for 4 days. Free bet stake not returned. T&Cs apply.
  • More coming soon… in the meantime, check out the latest free bets for horse racing.

Epsom Derby Tips and Betting Offers, 4.30 at Epsom Downs, Saturday, 1st June 2019

June kicks off with Britain’s richest race, as focus turns to the Derby at Epsom. The most prestigious of the five classics and the middle leg of the Triple Crown, this race has a huge £1.5million on offer, with £850,000 going to the winner alone. With huge worldwide attention on this Class 1 meeting, it’s one of the biggest dates in the racing calendar.

Epsom Derby Betting Odds

Completing the Triple Crown isn’t often attempted any more, while it seems like that will be the case again this year. 2000 Guineas winner Magna Grecia isn’t expected to feature at Epsom, which leaves a few other contenders for glory. The betting is currently led by Sir Dragonet at 3/1 with bet365. We have five horses below 10/1, including Too Darn Hot (9/2 with Betfair) and Japan (6/1 with Ladbrokes). However, we see more contenders pushing for glory in one of the biggest meetings of the year.

Epsom Derby Recent Meetings

Recent years here have been quite an open affair, with four different trainers winning The Derby in the last four years. Masar won in 2018 for Charlie Appleby, who will be hoping for more success in 2019. He’s certainly a contender here, but can Appleby become the first trainer to land back to back success at The Derby since 2014?

Betting Predictions

This race was won by John Gosden in 2015, while he’s expected to make a push for the prize this year as well. He comes here with Too Darn Hot featuring high up in the betting, with the three-year-old bay colt making impressive strides at an early age. He was last year’s champion two-year-old, while recent form is showing that he’s one to watch at the Derby. He returns to action here following an unbeaten 2018, which has set him up for a big future. A victory at Newmarket in October rounded off a great year, while that’s been enough to push him up to 9/2 with Betfair. We think he can be a real threat in this one, so we’re backing Too Darn Hot for Derby success.

We’re also going for a topically named entry, as Charlie Appleby’s Line of Duty is bound to catch a few eyes. Line of Duty is the son of the 2001 Derby winner Galileo, while he’s made big moves of his own over the last 12 months. This time last year he had yet to make a competitive start, but it’s been a whirlwind rise, with two second placed finishes in July 2018, before a three-race unbeaten streak. That’s carrying him into this race in fine form, while he’s led by the man who took glory last year. We see more Godolphin success here, as we’re backing Line of Duty at 16/1 with bet365.

Previous Winners

  • 2018 – Masar – jockey William Buick, trainer Charlie Appleby
  • 2017 – Wings Of Eagles – jockey Padraig Beggy, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2016 – Harzand – jockey Pat Smullen, trainer Dermot Weld
  • 2015 – Golden Horn – jockey Frankie Dettori, trainer John Gosden
  • 2014 – Australia – jockey Joseph O’Brien, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2013 – Ruler Of The World – jockey Ryan Moore, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2012 – Camelot – jockey Joseph O’Brien, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2011 – Pour Moi – jockey Mickael Barzalona, trainer Andre Fabre
  • 2010 – Workforce – jockey Ryan Moore, trainer Sir Michael Stoute
  • 2009 – Sea The Stars – jockey Michael Kinane, trainer John Oxx
  • 2008 – New Approach – jockey Kevin Manning, trainer Jim Bolger
  • 2007 – Authorized – jockey Frankie Dettori trainer Peter Chapple-Hyam
  • 2006 – Sir Percy – jockey, Martin Dwyer trainer Marcus Tregoning

Race History

From Diomed in 1779 to Golden Horn in 2015 , from the depths of the kidnapped Shergar and the ill-fated Humorist, who died just two weeks after his finest hour, to the heights of the breed shaping career at stud of Galileo, or the all conquering performances at the track of Sea The Stars, both triumph and disaster feature in the tales of previous Derby winners. Australia, Benny The Dip, Camelot, Dante, Erhaab, Fifinella, Galileo…..there is a star name for just about every letter in the alphabet in the history books here. To win this race is to earn your place in racing folklore.

It takes a pretty special horse to display the class and balance to win a Derby, whilst also possessing the speed for the 2000 Guineas and the stamina to win a St Leger. As of 2015, 15 horses have achieved the triple crown over the years, with the most famous being Nijinsky who swept all before him in 1970 in the hands of Lester Piggott.

The most famous British flat race of them all has not been without its fair share of controversy over the years. As early as 1805 a runner was brought down by a spectator, but worse was to follow over 100 years later. In 1913 suffragette Emily Davison decided to use the Derby as the stage for a high profile protest. Whether or not Emily intended to be struck by the King’s horse when stepping in front of the runners is a matter of some debate, but struck she was and sadly died four days later.

The 1844 edition meanwhile must go down as the most corrupt in the races history. All appeared in order as Running Rein cruised home in front in the premier three year old race of the season. Until that is, it was discovered that Running Rein wasn’t really called Running Rein at all, he was called Maccabeus, and he was four. Inevitable disqualification followed, with second placed finisher Orlando being awarded the race.

Ever popular with punters, there have been many grey’s tackle the downs over the years but as of 2015, only four have prevailed, and none since 1932.

Irish trainer extraordinaire Aidan O’Brien holds a couple of records here, being the first trainer to win the race three years in succession and also in partnership with Joseph O’Brien, being part of the only father and son combination to train and ride the winner. He is not however the most successful trainer in the races history. With seven wins apiece, that honour is shared between Robert Robson, John Porter and Fred Darling. “The Long Fellow” himself, Lester Piggott is top of the tree amongst the jockeys with nine wins.

Take a look at our tips and offers for the Epsom Oaks too! We’ve got more of the same for the Coronation Cup as well.