Eider Chase Tips, Offers and Free Bets – 23 Feb 2019

Eider Handicap Chase Preview: Tips, Betting Offers and Odds, Newcastle, 23rd February 2019

As we leave winter and head into the big spring festivals, the North East track of Newcastle plays host to one of the most demanding chases of the whole season. Here we take a look at the best odds and racing offers and provide our betting tips for the stamina-sapping Eider Chase.

This 4m 1/2f staying handicap chase was first run at Newcastle Racecourse in 1952 and features 25 stiff fences throughout its running. Open to chasers aged five and older, the contest now offers a total of £80,000 in total prize money.

With Cheltenham Festival betting really hotting up, this gives you another chance to take a look at the form lines. In truth this one is much more of an indicator for the Grand National later in the year.

Eider Handicap Chase Betting Tips

Odds correct at the time of writing and are subject to change.

  • Tips coming soon…

Free Bets and Betting Offers

While there are no enhanced odds offer for this race, some of these general racing betting offers could be of interest:

Eider Handicap Chase Betting Tips and Race Preview 2019

Race preview coming soon.

Previous Winners, Trainers and Jockeys

  • 2018 – Bay Wing – jockey Ryan Day, trainer Nicky Richards
  • 2017 – Mysteree – jockey Robbie Dunne, trainer Michael Scudamore
  • 2016 – Rocking Blues – jockey Lorcan Murtagh, trainer Rose Dobbin
  • 2015 – Milborough – jockey Graham Watters, trainer Ian Duncan
  • 2014 – Wyck Hill – jockey Tom Scudamore, trainer David Bridgewater
  • 2013 – Abandoned
  • 2012 – Portrait King – jockey Denis O’Regan, trainer Maurice Phelan
  • 2011 – Companero – jockey Peter Buchanen, trainer Howard Johnson
  • 2010 – Abandoned
  • 2009 – Merigo – jockey Timmy Murphy, trainer Alan Parker
  • 2008 – Comply Or Die – jockey Timmy Murphy, trainer David Pipe
  • 2007 – Nil Desperandum – jockey Tom Scudamore, trainer Venetia Williams

Eider Handicap Chase History

Building in popularity ever since its inaugural edition, this marathon event, together with the Fighting Fifth Hurdle, is one of the two major National Hunt contests held at Newcastle each season. Always a popular betting heat, the extreme distance and regular sloppy conditions act to make this a rather unique mud-spattered spectacle.

The weather in the North East in February invariably provides a fair dose of snow, rain and frost. Such conditions have led to this contest being abandoned on no fewer than 20 occasions over the years.

Eider Handicap Betting Tips and Offers
Comply Or Die

Always a severe test of a horse’s stamina, the 2011 edition of this contest was surely one of the most demanding races run in recent memory. 12 went to post but in what was bottomless ground, only three made it to the finish line. Companero just about climbed over the last fence to claim a heroic victory.

A handful of trainers have recorded a dual success in the race over the years but it is Toby Balding who leads the way. One of a select band of trainers to land the treble of the Grand National, Cheltenham Gold Cup (take a look at our Gold Cup offers feature) and Champion Hurdle, he took this prize four times between the years of 1966 and 1984.

Highland Wedding

Toby Balding’s haul was in fact largely down to one horse. The tough as teak stayer Highland Wedding, who with three wins between 1966 and 1969 stands alone as the most successful horse in the history of the race. The 12st carried by the horse in that 1969 edition is also the top weight carrying performance in the race to date. 1969 proved to be something of a golden year for Highland Wedding as he also took that year’s Grand National. Wyndburgh (1957 and 1958) is the only other runner to land the Eider more than once.

Due to its severely demanding nature, this contest has remained the preferred Grand National preparation for a number of trainers in more modern times. David Pipe’s Comply Or Die famously followed up success here in 2008 with a win in the big one at Aintree.

Amongst the ranks of the jockeys, David Munro, Mattie Batchelor, Owen McNally, Peter Niven, Timmy Murphy and Tom Scudamore have recorded two wins apiece, but as of 2017, no one has yet managed three.