Celebration Chase Betting Tips, Odds and Offers, Sandown, 27 April 2019

Celebration Chase Preview: Tips, Betting Offers and Odds, 3.00 at Sandown, 27 April 2019

Spring is in the air come late April and for the racing world that means a switch in focus from the jumps to the flat. This meeting at Sandown marks the perfect crossing over point, featuring as it does, top class contests both on the level and over obstacles. Here we take a look at the best odds and offers and provide our betting tips for one of the jumping highlights; The Celebration Chase.

This 2m chase contest was first run at Sandown in 2001. Featuring 13 fences in total, the contest is open to all chasers aged five and older and offers £125,000 in total prize money.

Celebration Chase Betting Tips

Odds correct at the time of writing and are subject to change.

  • Tips coming soon…

Celebration Chase Betting Offers

  • CORAL BET £5, GET £20 IN FREE BETS – 18+. UK+IRE only. Min first bet £5 at odds 1/2 or more. Tote and Pool excluded. Must be placed within 14 days of account reg. £20 credited as 4 x £5 free bets. Not valid with Cash Out. Free bet valid for 4 days. Free bet stake not returned. T&Cs apply.
  • Other offers coming soon…until then check out all of our racing free bets

Celebration Chase Preview and Betting Tips 2019

Race preview coming soon.

Celebration Chase Previous Winners

  • 2018 – Altior – jockey Nico de Boinville, trainer Nicky Henderson
  • 2017 – Altior – jockey Nico de Boinville, trainer Nicky Henderson
  • 2016 – Sprinter Sacre – jockey Nico de Boinville, trainer Nicky Henderson
  • 2015 – Special Tiara – jockey Noel Fehily, trainer Henry De Bromhead
  • 2014 – Sire De Grugy – jockey Jamie Moore, trainer Gary Moore
  • 2013 – Sire De Grugy – jockey Jamie Moore, trainer Gary Moore
  • 2012 – Sanctuaire – jockey Daryl Jacob, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2011 – French Opera – jockey Tony McCoy, trainer Nicky Henderson
  • 2010 – I’m So Lucky – jockey Tom Scudamore, trainer David Pipe
  • 2009 – Twist Magic – jockey Ruby Walsh, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2008 – Andreas – jockey Ruby Walsh, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2007 – Dempsey – jockey Timmy Murphy, trainer Carl Llewellyn

Celebration Chase History

This contest came into being somewhat accidently just after the turn of the century. With the foot and mouth crisis resulting in the cancellation of the Cheltenham Festival in 2001, alternative venues were sought for the major championship contests. Sandown did its bit by staging a two-mile event called the Championship Chase as a replacement for that years Queen Mother Champion Chase.

So popular did this event prove that it returned again in 2002 when it was run in memory of the Queen Mother who died that year. The contest has remained in place ever since, going under its current title of Celebration Chase since 2005.

Featuring as part of a top class dual flat/jumps meeting, the classification of this race has fluctuated a little over the years but it was granted Grade 1 status once again in 2014. Looking at the list of previous winners here, the event is more than deserving of that top tier ranking.

Multiple Champion Trainer Paul Nicholls has quickly developed an affinity with this event. Getting off the mark with Cenkos in the second edition of the race in 2002, Nicholls had notched up an impressive five victories by 2012. That haul puts him three wins clear of his nearest pursuer in the top trainer ranks here. Amongst the jockeys it is the greatest ever, Tony McCoy who leads the way with three wins.

Cenkos became the first dual winner of the race when – having finished second in 2003 – he bounced back to reclaim his crown in 2004. Also taking back to back renewals are Champion Chasers Sire De Grugy (2013 and 2014) and Altior (2017 and 2018).

The other Champion Chasers to taste success in this contest are Edredon Bleu who won the inaugural edition, Special Tiara who took this in 2015 before finally getting his nose in front in the Cheltenham event in 2017, and of course the majestic Sprinter Sacre who signed off his brilliant career when demolishing the field by 15 lengths here in 2016. The greatest jumps horse we have seen in our lifetime must go down as the best ever winner of the race.