British Champions Long Distance Cup Tips, Ascot, 19 October 2019

British Champions Long Distance Cup Stakes Preview: Tips, Betting Offers and Odds, 1.25 at Ascot, 19th October 2019

Ascot’s Champions Day has something for everyone, with the sprinters, middle distance stars and stayers all catered for. It is the stamina laden performers who kick off the action in the British Champions Long Distance Cup Stakes. Here we take a look at the best odds and offers available and provide our betting tips for the race.

This 2m Group 2 contest open to runners aged three and older was originally run at Newmarket in 1873, only moving to Ascot in 2011. The prize money on offer has grown considerably over the years, now reaching a total of £350,000.

British Champions Long Distance Cup Stakes Betting Tips

Odds correct at the time of writing and are subject to change.

  • Tips coming soon…

British Champions Long Distance Cup 2019 Betting Offers

Free bets, enhanced odds and other offers for this race will be listed in due course, in the meantime check out our Horse Racing Free Bets page.  Also check out our British Champions Day Betting Offers page.

  • Coral Free Bet and Betting OffersCORAL BET £5, GET £20 IN FREE BETS – Significant Terms: 18+. UK+IRE only. Min first bet £5 at odds 1/2 or more. Tote and Pool excluded. Must be placed within 14 days of account reg. £20 credited as 4 x £5 free bets. Not valid with Cash Out. Free bet valid for 4 days. Free bet stake not returned. T&Cs apply.

British Champions Long Distance Cup Stakes Tips

Race preview coming soon.

British Long Distance Champions Cup Stakes Previous Winners

  • 2018 – Stradivarius – jockey Frankie Dettori, trainer John Gosden
  • 2017 – Order Of St George – jockey Ryan Moore, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2016 – Sheikhzayedroad – jockey Martin Harley, trainer David Simcock
  • 2015 – Flying Officer – jockey Frankie Dettori, trainer John Gosden
  • 2014 – Forgotten Rules – jockey Pat Smullen, trainer Dermot Weld
  • 2013 – Royal Diamond – jockey Johnny Murtagh, trainer Johnny Murtagh
  • 2012 – Rite Of Passage – jockey Pat Smullen, trainer Dermot Weld
  • 2011 – Fame And Glory – jockey Jamie Spencer, trainer Aidan O’Brien
  • 2010 – Tastahil – jockey William Buick, trainer Barry Hills
  • 2009 – Akmal – jockey Richard Hills, trainer John Dunlop
  • 2008 – Veracity – jockey Frankie Dettori, trainer Saeed bin Suroor
  • 2007 – Royal And Regal – jockey Stéphane Pasquier, trainer André Fabre
  • 2006 – Hawridge Prince – jockey Jim Crowley, trainer Rod Millman

Race History

This race has only existed in its current guise since as recently as 2011 when it was moved to Ascot to make up part of the new British Champions Day. For the majority of its lifespan the event went by the name of the Jockey Club Cup and was run at the traditional home of flat racing, Newmarket. Wherever it has been run, the contest has always acted as the ideal stage on which the best of the staying division can showcase their talents.

Having won the Cheveley Park Stakes over 6f, the 1000 Guineas over a mile, the Oaks over 1m4f and the St Leger over 1m6f, wonder filly Pretty Polly must go down as one of the most talented and versatile performers of all time. Her numerous other career successes included a victory in this race in 1905.

1980 winner Ardross was a truly dominant 20th century stayer, landing two Ascot Gold Cups, two Yorkshire Cups, a Goodwood Cup and a Doncaster Cup in addition to his success here. Whilst not the most prolific of sires, some of his staying acumen did pass down the bloodline, with his son Alderbrook winning the Champion Hurdle and grandson Coneygree recording a famous success in the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

26 time champion Sir Gordon Richards regularly sits at the top of the pile when it comes to assessing the greatest jockeys of all time, and it is he who leads the way in this race with an unequalled seven wins.

Seven is also the magic number for trainer Barry Hills, who recorded his septet of triumphs between the years of 1991 and 2010. As of 2015 no other trainer had matched this total.

Remarkably five of Barry Hills seven wins in this event came with the same horse. Further Flight was a threat whenever he lined up in staying contests during his illustrious career, but here he proved simply unstoppable, winning five on the spin between 1991 and 1995.

Further Flight may lead the way but the unique demands of this race have thrown up a fair share of multiple winners over the years. St Gatien, High Line and the hugely popular Persian Punch all took this three times.