Betfair Chase Tips, Betting Offers and Odds – 24 November 2018

Betfair Chase Preview: Tips, Betting Offers and Odds, 3.00 at Haydock Park, 24th November 2018

Here we have betting tips for the Betfair Chase, including the best odds and offers for the race brought to us from Haydock Park.

Betfair Chase Betting Tips and Offers

Odds correct at the time of writing and are subject to change.

  • Might Bite to win at Evens with bet365
  • Thistlecrack each way at 10/1 with Coral

Paddy Power 50/1 Betfair Chase Offer
New customer offer, max stake €1, winnings paid in cash at the normal odds and are topped up to the enhanced price in free bets, free bets are valid for 7 days, only deposits with cards/PayPal count, multiple bets & in-play bets are excluded, T&Cs apply.

Betfair Chase Betting Offers

Also check out our top racing free bets and bonuses to see what the bookies can offer you.

Betfair Chase Betting Tips – 24th November 2018

The National Hunt season is based around a few key races. The build up to these massive races goes on for months and takes in some important contests. As well as being a very prestigious race in its own right, the Betfair Chase is also one of the key races in the lead up to the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

The main performers of this race have gone on to contend in the Gold Cup but this year it’s as much about looking backwards as forwards. That’s because the first two horses in the 2018 Gold Cup, Native Rive and Might Bite, are preparing to do battle again on Saturday afternoon, this time over 3 miles 1½ furlongs.

Better Ground Key for Might Bite

Native River was a fully deserving winner of the Gold Cup at the 2018 Cheltenham Festival. Colin Tizzard’s eight-year-old dug in incredibly well on the soft ground at Cheltenham to hold off the challenge of Might Bite and ended up winning by the best part of five furlongs.

The odds with the bookies show that many punters believe Might Bite is going to reverse the form at Haydock. The main reason for that view is that the going is set to be very different at Haydock than it was in Prestbury Park last March. Might Bite showed just how top class a performer he is on good to soft ground when winning the Betway Bowl by seven lengths at Aintree.

Nicky Henderson will be hoping for the usual good to soft ground at Cheltenham this March. For now, his position at the head of the ante post betting for the Gold Cup will strengthen further if he can beat Native River at Haydock at a best price of evens with bet365.

Can Thistlecrack Get Back to His Best?

Bristol De Mai was a most impressive winner of the 2017 Betfair Chase. Nigel Twiston-Davies knows that his seven-year-old’s chances are much slimmer 12 months a lack of rain in the Haydock area means he is not going to get his favoured soft ground. Twiston-Davies can say all he likes about Bristol De Mai’s versatility in different conditions but he is just not good enough on better ground to suggest that he’ll get close enough to the top two in the betting.

Thistlecrack, on the other hand, has done much of his good work on the same sort of ground that he’ll get on Saturday. Instead, the questions that Colin Tizzard’s 10-year-old has to answer surround whether or not he is capable of getting back to the levels he showed as a novice.

It’s been almost a year since Thistlecrack was last seen at a racecourse. That he is making his reappearance in such a prestigious contest shows that connections are hopeful he still has something to give at this level. He should be able to show enough of his old self to get into contention but can he hold to claim a place? It’s a big ask but the 10/1 that Coral are quoting could prove to be tempting enough for many punters to back Thistlecrack each way.

Betfair Chase Preview Winners

  • 2017 – Bristol De Mai – jockey Daryl Jacob, trainer Nigel Twiston-Davies
  • 2016 – Cue Card – jockey Paddy Brennan, trainer Colin Tizzard
  • 2015 – Cue Card – jockey Paddy Brennan, trainer Colin Tizzard
  • 2014 – Silviniaco Conti – jockey Noel Fehily, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2013 – Cue Card – jockey Joe Tizzard, trainer Colin Tizzard
  • 2012 – Silviniaco Conti – jockey Ruby Walsh, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2011 – Kauto Star – jockey Ruby Walsh, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2010 – Imperial Commander – jockey Paddy Brennan, trainer Nigel Twiston-Davies
  • 2009 – Kauto Star – jockey Ruby Walsh, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2008 – Snoopy Loopy – jockey Seamus Durack, trainer Peter Bowen
  • 2007 – Kauto Star – jockey Sam Thomas, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2006 – Kauto Star – jockey Ruby Walsh, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2005 – Kingscliff – jockey Robert Walford, trainer Robert Alner

Betfair Chase History

The Betfair Chase is a Grade 1 National Hunt Steeplechase ran at Haydock Park. It is ran over a three mile distance with a total of 18 fences across the course for it’s competitors to overcome. It has been ran every year since 2005, and is open to all five-year-old horses and up. This is the first Grade 1 event of the British National Hunt season, attracting only the finest horses, jockeys and trainers to this one.

The Betfair Chase, which is registered as the Lancashire Chase, was formerly the first part of the Betfair Million scheme. This scheme was dropped in 2010 but originally gave the opportunity for the winner of the Betfair Chase to win a sum of £1,000,000 if they were to go on to win both the King George VI Chase and then the Cheltenham Gold Cup or the Lexus Chase. Later in the 2008/9 season any first-three finisher had the chance of winning this prize fund if they were to come first or second in the Cheltenham Festival and then winning the Grand National.

Kauto Star is the most successful horse over the race’s relatively short history, with four wins overall in 2006, 2007, 2009 and 2011. Kauto Star’s jockey on the first three of these triumphs, Ruby Walsh, holds the record as the most successful jockey in this race as a result. Walsh has actually won the Betfair Chase on four separate occasions, the first three with Kauto Star, and more recently on Silvianaco Conti in 2012. Silvianaco Conti and Kauto Star are two winners here who have both been trained by the record holding trainer in this event, Paul Nicholls. Nicholls has managed to train an astonishing six of the ten horses to have ever been triumphant in this one.

Since Kauto Star won this race in the second year of its running in 2006 for Nicholls, the trainer has never lost two Betfair Chase’s consecutively. Robert Alner in 2005, Peter Bowen in 2008, Nigel Twiston-Davies in 2010 and Colin Tizzard in 2013 are the only occasions that the trainer from Lydney, Gloucestershire has been unsuccessful. Kauto Star also holds the record for the oldest horse to have ever won this one, aged 11. Surprisingly he too, along with Silviniaco Conti, is the youngest horse to win this one, both were six-years-old when they first won.