Bet365 Gold Cup Betting Tips, Odds and Offers – 27 April 2019

Bet365 Gold Cup Preview: Tips, Betting Offers and Odds, Sandown, 27 April 2019

As April draws to a close, so too does the British National Hunt season. It is Sandown Park which provides a fitting finale each year, with the Saturday card that marks the official end of the season. Here we take a look at the best odds and offers and provide our betting tips for one of the highlights of the finale meeting; The Bet365 Gold Cup.

This 3m 5½f handicap chase was first run at Sandown in 1957. Open to runners aged five and older, the contest now offers £150,000 in total prize money.

Bet365 Gold Cup Betting Tips 2018

Odds correct at the time of writing and are subject to change.

  • Tips coming soon.

Bet365 Gold Cup Betting Offers

  • CORAL BET £5, GET £20 IN FREE BETS – 18+. UK+IRE only. Min first bet £5 at odds 1/2 or more. Tote and Pool excluded. Must be placed within 14 days of account reg. £20 credited as 4 x £5 free bets. Not valid with Cash Out. Free bet valid for 4 days. Free bet stake not returned. T&Cs apply.
  • Other offers coming soon…until then check out all of our racing free bets

Bet365 Gold Cup Betting Tips and Race Preview 2019

Race preview coming soon.

Bet365 Gold Cup Previous Winners

  • 2018 – Step Back – jockey Jamie Moore, trainer Mark Bradstock
  • 2017 – Henllan Harri – jockey Sean Bowen, trainer Peter Bowen
  • 2016 – The Young Master – jockey Mr Sam Waley-Cohen, trainer Neil Mulholland
  • 2015 – Just A Par – jockey Sean Bowen, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2014 – Hadrian’s Approach – jockey Barry Geraghty, trainer Nicky Henderson
  • 2013 – Quentin Collonges – jockey Andrew Tinkler, trainer Henry Daly
  • 2012 – Tidal Bay – jockey Daryl Jacob, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2011 – Poker de Sivola – jockey Timmy Murphy, trainer Ferdy Murphy
  • 2010 – Church Island – jockey Adrian Heskin, trainer Michael Hourigan
  • 2009 – Hennessy – jockey Tony McCoy, trainer Carl Llewellyn
  • 2008 – Monkerhostin – jockey Richard Johnson, trainer Philip Hobbs
  • 2007 – Hot Weld – jockey, trainer Ferdy Murphy

Bet365 Gold Cup History

First making its appearance on the racing calendar in 1957, this stamina sapping event has been run at Sandown every year barring 1973 when it was transferred to Newcastle.

This contest has the distinction of being the first to benefit from commercial sponsorship. Whitbread Brewers already had something of a racing connection through its chairman, Colonel Bill Whitbread, who had ridden in the Grand National, and they duly lent their backing to this race.

The contest became known to many a racing fan simply as “The Whitbread”, before the long running sponsorship came to an end in 2001. Various companies have since lent their support to the event, with Bet365 taking over in 2008.

This wouldn’t really be a top class staying chase without the names of legendary duo, Arkle and Desert Orchid appearing on the roll of honour. With multiple victories in the Cheltenham Gold Cup and King George VI between them, the pair duly make an appearance. Arkle prevailing here in 1965 and Desert Orchid in 1988. Arkle’s win was particularly noteworthy given the welter burden he carried to success. Even a record 12st7lbs wasn’t enough to stop the classiest chaser of them all.

Other notable winners include Mill House (1967), who had previously landed the hat trick of the Cheltenham Gold Cup, Hennessy Gold Cup and King George VI Chase in 1963. Mr Frisk meanwhile was clearly in a rich vain of form in 1990 as the Kim Bailey runner took this just three weeks after his famous success in the Grand National.

Previous form has at times proved a useful pointer when looking for the winner. Larbawn (1968, 1969), Diamond Edge (1979, 1981), Topsham Bay (1992, 1993) and Ad Hoc (2001,2003) are all dual winners of the race. No horse has yet won it three times.

Fulke Walwyn is comfortably ahead at the top of the list of most successful trainers here, winning the race seven times between the years of 1958 and 1984. Ron Barry rode Charlie Potheen (1973) and The Dikler (1974) to success for Walwyn, and having also triumphed aboard Taxidermist (1971), he leads the way in the jockeys ranks.