Ascot Chase Tips, Betting Offers and Odds – 16 Feb 2019

Ascot Chase Preview: Tips, Betting Offers and Odds, Ascot, Saturday 16th February 2019

Mid to late February each year sees Ascot play host to the high class Ascot Chase. In the build up to the race we will be highlighting the best odds and offers around and providing our betting tips on the outcome.

The Cheltenham Festival is fast approaching. Connections are making their final preparations and Ascot plays host to a high class staying chase of its own. First run at the track in 1995, this 2m5f contest is a relative newcomer to the Grade 1 scene. It has, however, quickly established itself in the racing calendar. With total prize money in excess of £150,000 this is a much coveted prize.

Ascot Chase Betting Tips 2019

Odds correct at the time of writing and are subject to change.

  • Tips coming soon…

Ascot Chase Betting Offers

More offers coming soon…but how about all of our racing free bets?

Ascot Chase Tips and Race Preview 2019

Race preview for the 2019 renewal coming soon…

Previous Winners

  • 2018 – Waiting Patiently – jockey Brian Hughes, trainer Ruth Jefferson
  • 2017 – Cue Card – jockey Paddy Brennan, trainer Colin Tizzard
  • 2016 – Silviniaco Conti – jockey Noel Fehily, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2015 – Balder Succes – jockey Wayne Hutchinson, trainer Alan King
  • 2014 – Captain Chris – jockey Richard Johnson, trainer Philip Hobbs
  • 2013 – Cue Card – jockey Joe Tizzard, trainer Colin Tizzard
  • 2012 – Riverside Theatre – jockey Barry Geraghty, trainer Nicky Henderson
  • 2011 – Riverside Theatre – jockey Barry Geraghty, trainer Nicky Henderson
  • 2010 – Monet’s Garden – jockey Barry Geraghty, trainer Nicky Richards
  • 2009 – Voy Por Ustedes – jockey Robert Thornton, trainer Alan King
  • 2008 – Kauto Star – jockey Ruby Walsh, trainer Paul Nicholls
  • 2007 – Monet’s Garden – jockey Tony Dobbin, trainer Nicky Richards
  • 2006 – Our Vic – jockey Timmy Murphy, trainer Martin Pipe

Ascot Chase History

Since its inaugural running in 1995, when known as The Comet Chase, this contest has been held at the Berkshire venue of Ascot in all bar two years. During the redevelopment of Ascot in 2005 and 2006 the race was transferred to Lingfield Park but switched back to Ascot in 2007. The distance over which this race has been run has also varied a little over this period. Initially a 2m 3 1/2f event, it was increased to its present trip in 2008 and has remained unchanged since. There are now 17 stiff fences to be negotiated around Ascot’s galloping right handed track. That places a dual emphasis on jumping ability and stamina.

Looking at the list of previous winners here it quickly becomes apparent that it takes a pretty high class performer to come out on top. King George VI winners, Cue Card, One Man and Teeton Mill in addition to Champion Chaser’s Martha’s Son and Voy Por Ustedes have all been successful in this race. Undoubtedly the greatest winner of all though was the mighty five time King George winner and dual Cheltenham Gold Cup hero, Kauto Star. The Paul Nicholls trained legend took the prize in 2008.

The race is open to all chasers aged five years and older. However it has not yet been won by one so youthful, the six-year-old Strong Promise being the youngest ever victor in 1997. The elder statesman among yesterday’s heroes here is the popular grey Monet’s Garden who took the honours for the second time in 2010 at the age of 12.

In general it seems that experience counts for a lot. 21 of the first 25 winners have been aged 8 or over, with many already having a big prize under their belt. Look for an established Grade 1 performer to stamp their class on proceedings.

15 time champion Martin Pipe heads the trainers list here. His four wins between the years of 2002 and 2006 putting him ahead of the pack. Nicky Henderson is hot on his heels though with three wins. Two of Henderson’s triumphs came courtesy of the only back to back winner of the race to date, Riverside Theatre who took the honours in 2011 and 2012.

Those two wins for Riverside Theatre were enough to catapult Irishman Barry Geraghty to the top of the jockeys list. He sits on three wins in the race having also been aboard Monet’s Garden in 2010.

Check out our Grand National Trial betting offers too, as well as our main Grand National preview and offers.